Copyright © M. Keuter 2001 - 2018 - Some Rights Reserved.  Legal | Contact / Enquiries





Updated: 29 September 2019

Launching 10400 Supplemental Diagrams suite

Click here >>

3. Composition of Council

1. The council consists of the following members, appointed by the Minister, taking into account, among other things, the principles of transparency and representivity -

(a) seven registered persons, excluding candidates, of whom at least four must actively practise in the architectural profession -

(i) who must be nominated by the voluntary associations and any registered person; and

(ii) who must represent the categories of registered persons contemplated in section 18, in the prescribed manner;

(b) two professionals in the service of the State nominated by any sphere of government, of whom at least one must be nominated by the department; and

(c) two members of the public nominated through an open process of public participation.

2. A maximum of a third of the members of the South African Council for Architects, established in terms of the Architects’ Act, 1970 (Act No. 35 of 1970), who are nominated by that council remain in office for the first term of the council.

Top of page …